About the Facilitators

Tony Cahill

Tony Cahill was admitted to practice in 1981. After 13 years with a medium-sized city law firm, Tony commenced practice on his own account at Chatswood. In July 2002, Tony commenced a 'sabbatical' from private practice to concentrate primarily on legal education and writing.

He is a member of the Law Society's Property Law Environmental, Planning and Development Committees. He has been a member of the Re Draft Committees for the editions of the Contract for the Sale of Land since 1992, and the editions of the Contract for the Sale of Business since 2000.

In 1995, Tony completed the Property Agency TAFE course which was then the most usual educational qualification for holders of licences under the former Property, Stock and Business Agents Act 1941.

He was a co-author with Russell Cocks and Paul Gibney of the first NSW edition of 1001 Conveyancing Answers, and is currently the co-author with Gary Newton of Conveyancing Service New South Wales and Annotated Conveyancing and Real Property Legislation New South Wales, both published by LexisNexis Butterworths.

Linden Barnes

Linden Barnes is an ethics solicitor at the Law Society and is responsible for providing guidance to the profession on their professional ethical obligations.

She regularly presents on ethics to solicitors practising in all types of practice models including sole practices, major firms, government and in-house. She commenced her career in insurance litigation and then moved in-house, working at major financial organisations.

Paul Watkins

Paul Watkins is the General Counsel, Australia, for Stewart Title Limited. In that role, Paul is responsible for commercial and residential policy development, risk management, regulatory compliance, claims and underwriting supervision and general corporate legal matters.

Paul is a property lawyer and was admitted to legal practice in 2001. Paul holds degrees in Law (Hons) and Social Sciences from the University of Canberra and is admitted as a solicitor in New South Wales, the Australian Capital Territory, Queensland and the High Court of Australia.